CReFF Pilot Funding Offered for Junior Faculty

The Clinical Research Feasibility Fund (CReFF) Award offers start-up funds for junior investigators utilizing Schubert Research Clinic (SRC) resources. This program is designed to support clinical research pilot studies. Applicants must be CCTST members. Click here to join now (membership is free of charge).

The SRC Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) has established criteria for eligibility for support:

Potential recipients are eligible if:

  • They are junior faculty (based at UC, Cincinnati Children's or Cincinnati VAMC) with a rank of instructor or assistant professor.
  • They are fellows but it is anticipated they will have a faculty appointment during the course of the CReFF Award
  • Have an active SRC SAC-approved protocol OR submit one for review with their application

Potential recipients may not be eligible if:

  • They have training grant funding (K12, K23, KL2, etc.). They must contact the Program Director, Mark Mitsnefes before applying.

Potential recipients are not eligible if:

  • They have independent funding (R01, P01)
  • They are recipients of CHRF Trustee grants, T1, T1 Jr., Methods/Ethics, or Procter Scholar program funding

Prior to applying:

Applicants are strongly advised to contact Dr. Mitsnefes prior to submitting their application and to submit their protocol to the SAC at least one month in advance of the CReFF review meeting to facilitate resolving scientific or other issues.

Please refer to the Protocol Submission Guidelines or contact Ashley Hughes for assistance.

The approval process for the protocol must be completed before a protocol is considered for a CReFF award.  

Download the CReFF submission guidelines. 

Deadline for Submission:

  • February 28, 2020 at 5:00PM
  • Send completed applications  to:
    Ashley Hughes
    Operations Specialist

Additional Opportunities:

For additional funding opportunities, please search the database provided by the CCTST.  Click here to search for funding.



Gaurav Gulati, MD

Gaurav Gulati, MD, assistant professor in the UC Division of Immunology, Allergy and Rheumatology, received a CReFF award from the fall 2017 cycle for his project Evaluating the Role of Environmental Influences in Lupus.

Senu Apewokin, MD

Senu Apewokin, MD, UC Division of Infectious Diseases, received a CReFF award from the fall 2017 cycle for his project Assessing Neutralizing Antibody Responses to Clostridium dificile in Chemotherapy Patients Using Induced Intestinal Organoids.

Khurram Bari, MD

Khurram Bari, MD, assistant professor in the UC Division of Digestive Diseases, received a CReFF award from the fall 2016 cycle for his project A Pilot Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Budesonide as an Alternative to Prednisone for Liver Transplant Immune Suppression. Kenneth Sherman, MD, PhD serves as mentor.

Vanessa A. Olbrecht, MD

Vanessa A. Olbrecht, MD, assistant professor and anesthesiologist in the CCHMC division of anesthesia, received a CReFF award from the spring 2015 cycle. Her project is entitled Functional Near Infrared Spectroscopy (fNIRS) to Detect and Predict Pain in Children in the Inpatient and Outpatient Setting.

Smokey Clay, MD

Smokey Clay, MD, assistant professor in the CCHMC division of anesthesia, received a CReFF award from the fall 2014 cycle. His project is entitled Pharmacokinetics of Intravenous Lidocaine Infusion in Children.

Hansel Greiner, MD

Hansel Greiner, MD, assistant professor of pediatrics and co-director of the epilepsy surgery program in the division of neurology at CCHMC was awarded a grant from the fall 2013 cycle. His project is entitled Focal Cortical Dysplasia as an mTORopathy: Identification of a Serum Biomarker in Treatment Resistant Pediatric Epilepsy.